September 12-13, 2014 | Dallas, TX




Title Sponsors

Investor Sponsor
Durham School Services


  • Friday, September 12
  • Saturday, September 13

7:30 a.m.

Institute Registration

8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.

Breakfast, Welcome Remarks & Program Overview

9:15 a.m. – 10:15 a.m.

Session I:


The State of Our Nation’s Infrastructure

Session Chair: Hon. Alex Padilla, California State Senator; Chair, Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee; NALEO President

• Mr. Charles V. “Casey” Dinges IV, Senior Managing Director, Public Affairs, Membership and Marketing, American Society of Civil Engineers

10:15 a.m. – 11:45 a.m.

Session II:


Building for the Future: A Look at Best Practices

Session Chair: Hon. Annette Quijano, New Jersey State Assemblymember; Chair, Homeland Security and State Preparedness Committee

• Mr. Robert Kolasky, Senior Advisor to the Assistant Secretary for Infrastructure Protection, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

• Mr. D. Wayne Klotz, President, Klotz Association; Board Member, Institute for Sustainable Infrastructure

• Mr. Gary C. Thomas, President/Executive Director, Dallas Area Rapid Transit

12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.



An Update on the Highway and Transportation Funding Act of 2014

1:15 p.m. – 2:45 p.m.

Session III:


Transportation Infrastructure (Roads, Highways, Bridges)

Session Chair: Hon. Armando Martinez, Texas State Representative; Vice Chair, Transportation Committee

• Dr. Tim Lomax, Senior Research Engineer and Regents Fellow, Texas A&M Transportation Institute, Texas A&M University System

• Mr. Jim Reed, Group Director. Environment, Energy &. Transportation, National Conference of State Legislatures

• Mr. Michael Morris, Director of Transportation, North Central Texas Council of Governments


Session IV:


Energy Infrastructure

Session Chair: Hon. David Alvarez, Councilmember, City of San Diego, California

• Mr. William F. Hederman, Jr., Deputy Director for Systems Integration and Senior Advisor to the Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy

4:15 p.m.

Adjourn for the Day

4:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Opening Reception

Opening Reception Patron
Marathon Oil

Opening Reception Supporters
Advance America
Southwest Airlines